The "World Cup" Competition:  The World Cup is a competition for smallbore rifle shooters and was introduced to the LBTSA's competition programme in 1990.  It was originally patterned on the then current football World Cup competition and it basically still does although FIFA has tweaked the format of their Finals since then and has made it difficult if not impossible to transfer to this environment. Here's a picture of the awards on offer.

Contact the World Cup organiser here

NB: Those clubs that elect to do local scoring in the postal Qualifying round should download this Excel proforma file and use it to submit their scores by email.  Instructions are contained within it.

The 2021-22 competition has finally finished after the KO stages were run postally for the second year in succession. Congratulations to Hugh Simpson (Wick Old Stagers) on winning for the third time (the first was in 1996!). He overcame Alasdair Horne (Balerno & Currie) in the Final by 199 to 194.  Third was Jim Godsell (Dunfermline) and fourth was Darren Thorn (Sunderland) who unfortnuately was not able to shoot his final set of cards.

The Plate was won by Alan Anderson (Hawick), with Danny Rose (Dulnainbridge) second.

Special mention must be made of Hugh Simpson’s feat of only dropping one point over all four KO rounds – it came in his first card of the Final. His 799 ex 800 is a remarkable achievement.

The full results are at the bottom of this page, but here they are too.

Hopefully, normal service will be resumed next season (but we said that last year!).


The qualifying stage for the 2021-22 competition has finished.

The 16 qualifiers will proceed to the Final, to be held at Balerno & Currie on Saturday 5th March 2022 (Covid etc permitting). The list of qualifiers and reserves is given in the results report below. The draw for the Final will be issued to the qualifieres and reserves in due course.

Here are the final qualifying stage results.
Here are the final Group tables.

I have decided that the Final cannot take place on 5th March due to ongoing Covid restrictions so a Postal Final will take place as last season.  Anyone who could not attend the S/S Final originally will take part in the postal Final and reserves will (probably) not be needed.

The initial Group stage that normally happens at the traditional Final will not take place, so all sixteen finalists go straight to the Knock-out stage. The winners will proceed to the quarter-finals etc and the losers go to the Plate quarter-final etc. The Bowl will not be run.

Here is the seeded draw.

Round-by-round results will be issued in due course. Take the active links to see the results for each round as they become available:

Round 1 – 07Mar  (16 > 8 & Plate)
Round 2 – 21Mar  (8 > 4, Main & Plate)
Round 3 – 04Apr  (4 > 2, Main & Plate)
Round 4 – 25Apr  (2 > 1, Main & Plate + 3rd/4th, Main only)